Verbundpartner

The TCDH is a modern, international research and service centre of the Faculty for Language, Literature, and Media Studies at the University of Trier. The centre is supported by the research initiative Rhineland-Palatinate. The aim of the TCDH is both to establish and provide technologies in the areas of Computational Sciences and the Humanities, and to develop and promote interdisciplinary research in these fields. One of the major foci is the development of cutting-edge and exemplary solutions in the area of digital dictionaries, editions, and primary sources, as well as an engagement in further initiatives to expand approaches towards shared knowledge management. With the project “Epistolary Networks”, an additional focus shall be established on the development of computer-based processes and visualisation methodology supporting the analysis of larger text corpora.

Project website at the TCDH

The German Literature Archive Marbach (DLA) is one of the most important institutions for literature around the world. With about 1.400 original literary estates by famous authors and academics, the Marbach collection is internationally considered one of the most important of its kind. The collection gives testimony of the development, distribution, influence, interpretation, and study of literature and intellectual history as well as the life and thought of their authors – and it does so via manuscripts and prints, images and objects, and in audiovisual as well as digital form. Whilst the range of the general collection reaches from works of the 18th century to contemporary contributions, since its founding in 1955 the DLA is committed to the collection of German exile literature and owns the internationally most significant collection of sources for exile studies. Amongst the authors whose (partial) literary estate can be found in the DLA are Alfred Döblin, Mascha Kaléko, Else Lasker-Schüler, Heinrich and Thomas Mann, Kurt Tucholsky, and Carl Zuckmayer.

DLA website of the project on the scholarly investigation of exile letters (1933-1945) in connection with further material (German)

The Institute of Computer Sciences at MLU Halle-Wittenberg has been working at the transition between Computational Sciences and Humanities for several years and had a significant involvement in the development of the working group “E2 – Electronic Editing”. One of the institute’s working foci lies on the development of TEI-conformist work environments for the registration and annotation of literary texts and their subsequent export into print- and online-ready publication formats. Amongst other projects, the MLU institute was involved in the development of philological tools, for example a tool adapting the idea of a highlighter allowing the annotation of literary texts. In the near future, a platform for social networks will be established.

MLU website of the project on an interactive platform for the research on correspondence networks (German)

Verbundpartner

Das Kompetenzzentrum für elektronische Erschließungs- und Publikationsverfahren in den Geisteswissenschaften ist eine moderne internationale Forschungs- und Serviceeinrichtung des Fachbereichs II: Sprach-, Literatur- und Medienwissenschaften der Universität Trier und wird in der Forschungsinitiative des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz gefördert. Ziel des Zentrums ist es, Technologien aus dem Bereich der Informatik in den Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften zu etablieren sowie interdisziplinäre Forschungsansätze auf diesem Feld voranzutreiben und weiterzuentwickeln. Zu den etablierten Arbeitsschwerpunkten gehört die Entwicklung zukunftsweisender und modellhafter Problemlösungen im Bereich digitaler Nachschlagewerke, Editionen und Primärquellen sowie die Beteiligung an Initiativen im Bereich des Ausbaus von Wissensverbünden und des verteilten Wissensmanagements. Mit dem Projekt "Vernetzte Korrepondenzen" soll ein weiterer Schwerpunkt auf die Entwicklung informatischer Verfahren und Visualisierungsmethoden gelegt werden, die bei der literaturwissenschaftlichen Analyse großer Textkorpora unterstützen.

Projektseite des Trierer Kompetenzzentrums

Das Deutsche Literaturarchiv Marbach (DLA) ist eine der bedeutendsten Literaturinstitutionen weltweit. Mit rund 1.400 Nach- und Vorlässen namhafter Schriftsteller, Schriftstellerinnen und Gelehrter gehört die Marbacher Sammlung international zu den führenden ihrer Art. Überliefert werden Zeugnisse der Entstehung, Verbreitung, Wirkung, Deutung und Erforschung literarischer und geistesgeschichtlich bedeutsamer Werke und des Lebens und Denkens ihrer Autorinnen und Autoren in handschriftlicher und gedruckter, bildlicher und gegenständlicher, audiovisueller und digitaler Form. Neben dem allgemeinen Sammlungsschwerpunkt, der vom 18. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart reicht, ist das DLA seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1955 auch der gezielten Sammlung der deutschen Exilliteratur verpflichtet und beherbergt inzwischen die weltweit bedeutendste Quellensammlung für die Exilforschung. Literaten, deren (Teil-)Nachlässe im DLA aufbewahrt werden, sind etwa Alfred Döblin, Mascha Kaléko, Else Lasker-Schüler, Heinrich und Thomas Mann, Kurt Tucholsky, Carl Zuckmayer u.a.

Projektseite des am DLA Marbach bearbeiteten Teilvorhabens "Wissenschaftliche Erschließung von Exilbriefen (1933-1945) in Verbindung mit weiteren Nachlassmaterialien"

Das Institut für Informatik der MLU Halle-Wittenberg arbeitet bereits seit eingen Jahren an der Schnittstelle von Informatik und Philologien und war maßgeblich an der Gründung des Arbeitskreises E2 – Elektronisches Edieren des dortigen Universitätszentrums Informatik beteiligt. Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt des Instituts liegt auf der Entwicklung TEI-konformer Arbeitsumgebungen zur Erfassung und Auszeichnung literarischer Texte und für den anschließenden Export in print- wie onlinefähige Publikationsformate. Daneben war das Institut an der Entwicklung philologischer Tools beteiligt, etwa eines Werkzeugs zur Annotation literarischer Texte, das die Benutzung von Textmarkern nachempfindet. Auch eine Plattform für soziale Netzwerke ist gerade im Entstehen.

Projektseite des am Hallenser Institut für Informatik bearbeiteten Teilvorhabens "Interaktives Portal zur Erforschungs von Korrespondenznetzwerken"